Lancaster, Landauer among drivers DQ’d following Sunday twinbill – JW Martin


Following a prolonged post-race inspection process, Motor Mile Speedway track officials finalized the Collision Plus Limited Sportsman results Tuesday, disqualifying the top three finishers of both 50-lap features held Sunday during the CMC Supply / Coors Light TWIN 75’s presented by ABC 13.


The penalties were levied against an unprecedented total of five race teams— it marks the most infractions in a single class for one event dating back to the ownership change in 2004.


Among those affected by the penalizations were Scott Lancaster, defending Limited Sportsman track champion and winner of the twinbill nightcap, and former division points leader Julia Landauer.


Newcomer Jake Ruggles inherited the win in race one after Karl Budzevski, Landauer and Lancaster, respectively, were all found incompliant with the rule book. The finale was awarded to Brian Sutphin. Lancaster, Ryan Repko and Travis Hurt, the top three on-track finishers, were all disqualified.


The fallout has had a profound impact in the Limited Sportsman standings; by virtue of the disqualifications, Steven Weeks vaults to the top of the leaderboard by two markers over Taylor Ransom. Landauer has plummeted to seventh, 18 points out of first. Facing adversity in defense of his title, Lancaster is mired in tenth, 42 points behind the leader.